WLC 1

I’ve decided to get back into blogging. Not deeply concerned with whether people read it or not, but I like to write. I think I am going to alternate, theology one week, then something literature related, and then something socially related the third week. Maybe it’ll change, who knows.

For theology, I am going to blog my way through the Westminster Larger Catechism. It’s part of my theological tradition in the Presbyterian Church and a part that is frequently neglected. We sometimes attempt to memorize the Westminster Shorter Catechism, and we go to the Westminster Confession to make determinations in theological debates. The Westminster Larger Catechism is a valuable expansion of much of what is in the Shorter Catechism, and there is much of value for our understanding there. I thought I might work my way through the Larger Catechism, seeking to elaborate and clarify its meaning where possible, and perhaps seek to apply it.

 

WLC Q. 1. What is the chief and highest end of man? 

A. Man’s chief and highest end is to glorify God, and fully to enjoy him forever.

 

The theme of this answer is one highlighted frequently by Jonathan Edwards and one of his frequent modern expositors, John Piper. Edwards highlighted the glory of God, and the manner in which we are called to delight in him. “God glorifies himself towards the creatures in two ways: by appearing to their understanding and, two, in communicating himself to their hearts, and in their rejoicing in him, the manifestations which he makes of himself. God is glorified not only in his glory’s being seen, but in its being rejoiced in. When those that see it, delight in it, God is more glorified than if they only see it.” Edwards has many other similar affirmations, pointing to our need to glory in the wonder of God. As John Piper points out, the word end is singular — man’s chief end, not ends. One end is two things: (1) to glorify God and (2) to enjoy him. Which certainly seems to say that these two are not two distinct acts — the first glorifying and the second enjoying — but one act.

There are two things that this question highlights, in comparision to Q and A 1 of the Shorter Catechism. The first is that this answer uses the words “chiecf and highest end.” While these words are closely synonymous,  the use of highest highlights the fact that there are indeed other realities and even “ends” in life. The confession isn’t saying that the other ends in our life aren’t legitimate, but it is making clear that it is God who is to be our chief and highest end. The other word used additionally here not in the Shorter Catechism’s formulation is that we are to fully enjoy God forever. What the Larger Catechism makes clear is that God is to be all our delight and all our pleasure. Enjoying God is to be the pinnacle of our lives, the culmination of all our desires.

I’ll close this brief reflection with a word from another catechism, pointing to a similar truth. The Heidelberg Catechism asks what is our only comfort in life and in death. The answer is,

That I am not my own, but belong with body and soul, both in life and in death, to my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ. He has fully paid for all my sins with his precious blood, and has set me free from all the power of the devil. He also preserves me in such a way that without the will of my heavenly Father not a hair can fall from my head; indeed, all things must work together for my salvation. Therefore, by his Holy Spirit he also assures me of eternal life  and makes me heartily willing and ready from now on to live for him

Leave a comment